Sellers Gang Mama

Confessions of a Happily Married Mother of Twins Trying to Keep a Sense of Self & Sanity One Day at a Time

What is worse? Child birth or a kidney stone? January 3, 2010

Filed under: everyday life — Heather Sellers @ 12:53 pm
Tags:

Alright people, do I have a story for you. Hold on to your hats.

About a month ago, November 29th to be exact, at 6:00am when I tried to go back to sleep after feeding Jaxson and Elizabeth a pain hit me in the left side of stomach and my  back. For 3 hours I tried to deal with it, while my poor little sister tried to figure out what the heck was wrong with me. Finally, I called my mom and hysterically asked her to come and watch the babies for me so I could go to the ER.

My dad met me at the hospital and they ran a CT scan which confirmed what I already knew. I had a 3 mm kidney stone. The good news was that it had already worked its way into my bladder and should be out quickly. Armed with a prescription for pain meds and anti-nausea meds I went home to rest and pass that sucker. The next day I started feeling better mid afternoon so I went back to work the next day and moved on.

The next week I was sitting on the floor of my friend Margaret’s cube crying because the pain was back. I went home took my pain meds and anti-nausea pills and slept the whole day, surely it was gone now.

WRONG-O!!

Monday morning, I woke up at 3:00am right back in that excruciating pain. I thought ‘seriously? Who gets 2 kidney stones in the same month? Last time it was 4 years between!’ I tried to take a pain pill and lay on the couch thinking it would pass. But alas, again I was on my way to the ER. Thank goodness for my mother who drove me since I puked in my front yard and had to hold a trash bag the whole way to the hospital, driving was so not an option.

Would you believe it was the same stone? The same stone (actually was 4mm and not 3) had been plaguing me for a month now. Me, a girl who hates pain meds had taken more in that month then the month I had my c-section. What is wrong with that picture? I can handle 10 pounds and approximately 27 inches of baby, but not a 4mm stone? Surely not!

The urologist said due to this evil devil stones location there was no way to blast it out with sound waves, so surgery was my only option and his preference would be that I stay the night in the hospital to control the pain.  Thank you Jesus for morphine! My pain was under control and I was going to be able to sleep until my surgery, all is well, right?

to be continued…

 

One Response to “What is worse? Child birth or a kidney stone?”

  1. Tara Says:

    Ugh! I’m so sorry, Heather!!! I hope you don’t have to worry about this anymore…its no fun!


Leave a Reply

