Sellers Gang Mama

Confessions of a Happily Married Mother of Twins Trying to Keep a Sense of Self & Sanity One Day at a Time

Exhausted January 12, 2010

Filed under: everyday life,motherhood — Heather Sellers @ 2:27 pm
Tags: ,

I have been up since 3:00am and I am seriously dragging people.

Jaxson was having no part of sleeping after 3:00am and decided that neither was Mama. Even when I put him in bed with me to snuggle, which he usually loves and makes him go right to sleep, no way, he was having no part of it. I thought maybe his tooth hurt so I gave him Tylenol (he is on his third tooth! Can you believe that?) That didn’t work so I gave him a half bottle (I never give them a whole bottle in the middle of the night, I don’t want to start that dependency again). That didn’t work so I just sat on the bed and held him. He would be ok for about 5 minutes and then we would have to move, then he would be ok, then we would have to move, lather, rinse, repeat.

I watched as 5:00am passed and he would still not go back to sleep, and my plans of getting up early and getting on the treadmill flew out the window. I watched as 5:30am passed and he was now only content to be held in a standing position. I don’t know about other mothers out there, but when you are tired and your child is being stubborn and fussy and in my case, screaming in the middle of the night, and then you stand them up and they start doing their cute little half smile and tiny giggle-that stuff is not cute! I wish I could say that because he smiled it melted my heart and I was glad to be spending this time alone in the semi-dark with him while he looks so content, but that would be a lie. The smile only lasted a few moments and then he was upset again. And even if it had lasted it wouldn’t have helped me any, I needed more sleep.

I lost 2 hours of sleep and 45 minutes of treadmill action this morning and I gotta tell you I was aggrevated. The minute the clock hit 6:00am I made 2 bottles and proceeded to tell Jesse the babies were going to eat and I was going to take a shower. *Please note- my husband could sleep through a tornado followed by a training crashing through bathroom wall, running through our room and out the wall on the other side NEXT TO HIS HEAD! So it’s not like I made him get up an hour early to feed them while I took a shower.* I turned my nightstand light on, propped pillows under the bottles and when I came out of my 30 minute shower I found Jaxson and Elizabeth happily drinking their bottles and Jesse ASLEEP. He slept through 3 hours of crying and 30 minutes with the light on, how does he do that??

Don’t let those big eyes fool you, he can be a little stinkerpants! Lucky for him I love him so much I only stay aggravated for a few minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

